30 clubs confirmed: the lowdown on the FFA Cup Round of 32


30 of the 32 clubs for the FFA Cup Round of 32 have been confirmed, with the remaining four spots set to be all locked in on the 23rd of June.

30 of the 32 clubs for the FFA Cup Round of 32 have been confirmed, with the remaining four spots set to be all locked in on the 23rd of June.

The long weekend saw six more clubs book their spot in the FFA Cup proper, with some mouth-watering clashes potentially in the Round of 32 and beyond.  

Those clashes will be confirmed LIVE on FOX SPORTS on Tuesday, 26th June 2018 in the lead up to the Caltex Socceroos’ third Group C match at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ against Peru. The exact time is TBC.

The Round of 32 will contain the ten Hyundai A-League clubs, as well as 2017 NPL Finals Series champions Heidelberg United.

Joining them will be 21 clubs from member federations around the country – with just four spots left to be decided.

Adelaide Comets and Devonport Strikers will be the representatives of South Australia and Tasmania respectively after wins at the long weekend sent them through.

Armadale and Gwelup Croatia will fly the flag for Western Australia after they secured the two Round of 32 spots in the West.  

Long weekend victories for Olympic FCLions FCCairns FC and Gold Coast Knights locked in the four Round of 32 places for sides from Queensland.

All of the Round of 32 places in both New South Wales and Victoria were decided almost a fortnight ago.


APIA Leichhardt TigersRockdale City SunsMarconi StallionsHakoah Sydney City East, and Bonnyrigg White Eagles are the five sides who will enter the competition from NSW.

Victoria will be represented by Bentleigh GreensAvondale FCPort Melbourne Sharks, and Northcote City, as well as 2017 NPL Finals Series Winners Heidelberg United.

The two Northern NSW spots were decided on Wednesday night with Broadmeadow Magic and Charlestown City Blues qualifying for the Round of 32.

Things are still being tied up in two member federations – ACT and Northern Territory.

Either Canberra FC or Gungahlin United will be through from ACT next Saturday night, while June 23 will see either Hellenic Athletic Club or Verdi Football Club go through from the Northern Territory.

The Round of 32 fixtures will be played over four match nights (Tuesday or Wednesday) between 24 July and 8 August (four matches per night).

The Round of 16 to be played on two match nights between 21 August and 29 August.

The Quarter Finals – which will be played on two match nights between 18 September and 26 September – have been shifted from last year to avoid a crossover with Member Federation National Premier Leagues (NPL) Grand Finals, as well as September’s FIFA International Window.

The FFA Cup 2018 Semi Finals will be played on a stand-alone weekend in early (6-7) October, two weeks prior to the commencement of the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season.

The FFA Cup Final 2018 will be played in October for the first time, with the evening of Wednesday, 31 October locked in for the competition’s showpiece.

This article was originally published at: www.theffacup.com.au/news/28-clubs-confirmed-lowdown-ffa-cup-round-32