No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled
No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

Sep 13, 2017   |  12:46AM AET

Aspropotamitis, Cornthwaite and Tyson nominated for PFA Major Awards

Aspropotamitis, Cornthwaite and Tyson nominated for PFA Major Awards

Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) has today announced the 2017 nominees for their awards which includes Wanderers Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Robbie Cornthwaite and Jerrad Tyson.

Jonathan Aspropotamitis is part of the nominees for the PFA Harry Kewell Medal which recognizes players outstanding achievement in the Hyundai A-League or overseas. 

Aspropotamitis has been part of the Wanderers first team since the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 season and was rewarded for his form when he signed his first senior contract with the Red & Black on 31 May 2015.

The calm defender found his feet in season 2016/17 and became a regular in the Wanderers’ backline making 29 appearances across all competitions. 


The Aspro Story

Both Robbie Cornthwaite and Jerrad Tyson have been nominated for the inaugural PFA Community Medal which is voted on by all PFA Members. 

Cornthwaite has been recognised for his work with the Beards of Hope campaign, where he has invited all men across Australia to grow a beard this beard season and brave the shave in September. 

The towering defender was able to raise funds for and awareness of the Bears of Hope Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support charity. 



Tyson has been nominated for his generous and generous efforts in engaging with the community in Western Sydney and his work on educating young footballers on the importance of maintaining a healthy lifestyle. 

The 2017 recipient of the Community Medal will be a player who has dedicated their time away from football to a charity or community initiative. The winner will receive $2500 to go to a charity of their choice. 

Other awards include the PFA Footballer of the Year, PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year and the PFA Young Women’s Footballer of the Year. 


Jerrad Tyson Gallery

Proudly supported by LUCRF Super and Travellers Choice, the winners, as voted by the players, will be announced at the 2017 PFA Players’ Awards on Sunday 17 September at the Merewether Surfhouse in Newcastle.

PFA Chief Executive John Didulica said that it was important to acknowlege player’s contribution to the game both on and off the field. 

“It’s critical to recognise the growing number of players who are using their personal time to pursue causes close to their heart and inspiring people off the field as well as on.”

“The PFA is proud to recognise the winner at our most prestigious night and, in recognition of his strong commitment to social causes, we are very honoured to have former A-League player Rodrigo Vargas presenting the award to the winner on the night and ‘passing the baton’ to current players.”

Full list of nominees

PFA Footballer of the Year

  • Jackson Irvine
  • Aaron Mooy
  • Milos Ninkovic
  • Tom Rogic
  • Danny Vukovic

PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year

  • Steph Catley
  • Caitlin Foord
  • Katrina Gorry
  • Alanna Kennedy
  • Sam Kerr
  • Lydia Williams

PFA Harry Kewell Medal

  • Mustafa Amini
  • Jonathon Aspropotamitis
  • Alex Gersbach
  • Riley McGree

PFA Young Women’s Footballer of the Year

  • Ellie Carpenter
  • Alex Chidiac
  • Grace Maher
  • Remy Siemsen

2017 PFA Community Medal

  • Luke Brattan
  • Tim Cahill
  • Robbie Cornthwaite
  • Chris Harold
  • Michelle Heyman
  • Jerrad Tyson