Classic Clashes: Away Sydney Derby


The Wanderers will be looking to break a six year hoodoo against Sydney FC in the Sydney Derby at Jubilee Stadium on Saturday.

The Red & Black haven’t beaten their fiercest rivals on their home territory since a Round 3 clash at Allianz Stadium Stadium back on 26 October 2013 when they prevailed 2-0 thanks to goals from Iacopo La Rocca and Shinji Ono.

Since then the best they have managed is three draws.

Allianz Stadium has since been pulled down and Sydney are now using Jubilee Stadium as their main home ground. This will be the first time the two clubs have met at the venue.

While it has been slim pickings for the Wanderers away from home against Sydney FC, there are nonetheless been some memorable moments. 

Round 11, 15 December 2012
Sydney FC 0 v Wanderers 2 (Youssouf Hersi 24′, Michael Beauchamp 77′).
Allianz Stadium
Wanderers: Ante Covic; Adam D’Apuzzo, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, Michael Beauchamp (c), Jerome Polenz, Shannon Cole, Mateo Poljak, Shinji Ono, Youssouf Hersi (Tahj Minniecon 72′), Joey Gibbs (Dino Kressinger 76′), Iacopo La Rocca (Aaron Mooy 65′).

Youssouf Hersi had the honour of scoring the Wanderers’ first ever goal in a Sydney Derby before setting up captain Michael Beauchamp with a goal in the 77th minute to seal a historic win.


Round 3, 26 October 2013
Sydney FC 0 v Wanderers 2 (Iacopo La Rocca 11′, Shinji Ono 26′)
Allianz Stadium
Wanderers: Ante Covic; Adam D’Apuzzo, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, Michael Beauchamp (c), Mateo Poljak, Shinji Ono (Tahj Minniecon 86′), Youssouf Hersi (Brendon Santalab 46′), Tomi Juric (Shannon Cole 76′), Mark Bridge, Iacopo La Rocca, Jerome Polenz. 

This was played in front of a then-record Derby crowd and it was a dominant performance from the Wanderers. La Rocca opened the scoring on 11 minutes before Shinji Ono added a second just 15 minutes later.


Round 20, 20 February 2016
Sydney FC 1 (Scott Jamieson own goal 36′) v Wanderers 1 (Dario Vidosic 13′)
Allianz Stadium
Wanderers: Liam Reddy; Scotty Jamieson, Nikolai Topor-Stanley (c), Brendan Hamill, Scott Neville, Dimas Delgado, Andreu Guerao, Romeo Castelen (Jaushua Sotiro 62′), Mitch Nicholls, Dario Vidosic, Mark Bridge (Brendon Santalab 85′).

Another game the Wanderers dominated but this time they could not get all three points as Scott Jamieson’s own goal canceled out Dario Vidosic’s 13th-minute opener.


Round 15, 14 January 2017
Sydney FC 0 v Western Sydney 0
Allianz Stadium
Wanderers: Vedran Janjetovic; Jack Clisby, Robert Cornthwaite (Brendan Hamill 88′), Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Scott Neville, Dimas Delgado (c), Mitch Nicholls, Nicolas Martinez, Kearyn Baccus (Bruno Pinatares), Jaushua Sotirio, Lachlan Scott (Jumpei Kusukami 64′).

A hard-fought contest that ended in the only scoreless match between the two clubs.

Vedran janjetovic

Round 3, 21 October 2017
Sydney FC 2 (Bobo 38′, Brillante 61′) v Western Sydney 2 (Oriol Riera 3′, Brendan Hamill 30′)
Wanderers: Vedran Janjetovic; Raul Llorente, Brendan Hamill, Robert Cornthwaite (c), Josh Risdon, Alvaro Cejudo, Roly Bonevacia, Kearyn Baccus (Jacob Melling 90′), Oriol Riera (Brendon Santalab 86′), Mark Bridge, Chris Herd.

The Wanderers had Sydney on the ropes with goals from Riera after just three minutes and Brendan Hamill in the 30th giving the Red & Black a 2-0 lead. But Sydney fought back to level and share the points in yet another pulsating Derby contest.