GRAND FINAL | Press Conference


Tony Popovic and Nikolai Topor-Stanley face the media before the Hyundai A-League Grand Final against Brisbane Roar.

The biggest game of the year is upon us with the NRMA Insurance Western Sydney Wanderers vying for Championship glory against Brisbane Roar. Here are the facts you need to know.

Hyundai A-League 2014 Grand Final
Brisbane Roar v Western Sydney Wanderers
Sunday 4 May 2014
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off 4pm (AEST)

Brisbane Roar have won just one of their previous seven Hyundai A-League matches against Western Sydney Wanderers; this coming in November 2013 – 3-1 at home (L4 D2).

Western Sydney Wanderers eliminated Brisbane Roar from the Finals- series last season at the semi-final stage; winning 2-0 in Sydney.

This is Western Sydney Wanderers- second Grand Final appearance, in what is only their second Hyundai A-League season. They lost the final 2-0 to Central Coast Mariners last season.

Brisbane Roar will have to overcome history to win this match as no team has won the Hyundai A-League Grand Final on three occasions.

Should Western Sydney Wanderers win this match, they-ll be the sixth different club to win the Hyundai A-League Grand Final.

Ante Covic has kept a league-high 10 clean sheets this campaign. Wanderers have also kept a league-high 11 clean sheets.

Just four of the eight previous A-League Grand Final matches have been won by the side that were crowned Hyundai A-League Premiers that season.

Berisha has scored the opening goal of the game in both of his Hyundai A-League appearances against Western Sydney Wanderers this season.

Brisbane Roar have won six and lost just one of their last nine Hyundai A-League playoff matches – but this solitary defeat came against Western Sydney Wanderers last season (2-0).

Brisbane Roar will host Western Sydney Wanderers for the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League Championship on Sunday 4 May, kicking off at 4pm AEST. Click here to purchase tickets.

Follow all the action of the Grand Final on social media using the hash-tag #ALeagueGF