Griffiths joins the Red & Black


The NRMA Insurance Western Sydney Wanderers have today announced the signing of Ryan Griffiths until the end of the 2016/17 season.

The talented talisman will join the club for the remainder of the Hyundai A-League season and the Wanderers third entry into the AFC Champions League.

Signing from South China SS from the Hong Kong Premier League, the striker arrived to training to link up with his new team mates for the first time today.

Speaking before his first session Griffiths said he was happy to join the club and ready to give 100 per cent.

“It’s definitely exciting times and I was very excited to come here when Tony (Popovic) called me and asked if I was available and he was really enthusiastic to get me back,” said Griffiths.

Ryan Griffiths

“That was something that showed me a lot of respect. I’ve heard a lot of good things about him as a coach.

“I wanted to join the squad and come back and do well for Western Sydney in the ACL and the league and give 100 per cent that’s for sure.”

With a wealth of experience playing in Asia and in Australia, most notably for Beijing Guoan and Newcastle Jets, Griffiths will add another threat to the Wanderers attack.

Griffiths will train for the first time today at Wanderers Blacktown base and will be eligible for the match against Wellington Phoenix this weekend.

Ryan Griffiths 
Born: 21/08/1981
Nationality: Australian
Position: Forward

Senior Clubs
Northern Spirit (1999-2002)
Manly-Warringah (2002)
Newcastle Jets (2002-2004)
Naţional Bucureşti (2004-2006)
Rapid Bucureşti (2006-2009)
Liaoning (2007-2008), on loan
Beijing Guoan (2009), on loan
Beijing Guoan (2010)
Newcastle Jets (2011-2013)
Beijing Baxy (2013)
Adelaide United (2014)
Sarawak (2014-2015)
South China (2016-2017)

NRMA Insurance Western Sydney Wanderers Hyundai A-League 2016/17 squad:

Goalkeepers: Vedran Janjetovic, Jerrad Tyson
Defenders: Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Aritz Borda, Jack Clisby, Shannon Cole, Robert Cornthwaite, Brendan Hamill, Scott Neville 
Midfielders: Terry Antonis, Kearyn Baccus, Dimas Delgado, Steven Lustica, Nico Martinez, Jacob Melling, Mitch Nichols, Bruno Piñatares, Mario Shabow
Attackers: Ryan Griffiths, Jumpei Kusukami, Brendon Santalab, Lachlan Scott, Jaushua Sotirio

Scholarship Players: Jackson Bandiera, Emilio Martinez, Liam Youlley