Ins & Outs for Saturday’s match against Adelaide


Tony Popovic has named his squad for Saturday’s Hyundai A-League Round 27 match against Adelaide United at Coopers Stadium.

There are a host of changes, as Shannon Cole, Bruno Piñatares, Aritz Borda, Mario Shabow, Ryan Griffiths, Abraham Majok and youth league attacker Kosta Grozos are all added to an extended squad.

After a heavy schedule of games in recent weeks, Jack Clisby, Scott Neville, Jumpei Kusukami, Jonathan Aspro and Lachlan Scott will be rested this week.

Abraham Majok

The Wanderers enter the last round of the Hyundai A-League season knowing that fifth place is the highest they can finish on the ladder, while Adelaide will be hoping to avoid finishing in last place.

A trip to Brisbane Roar, Melbourne City or Perth Glory awaits Tony Popovic’s side in next Friday’s elimination finals, though immediate focus will be firmly on coming away from Coopers Stadium with a result.


Saturday will mark the third meeting between the two sides, following the Wanderers’ 2-1 win at Coopers Stadium in Round 3 and Round 22’s 0-0 draw at Spotless Stadium.

Following last week’s 0-0 with Melbourne Victory, the Wanderers stretched their unbeaten run in the league to five matches and will be aiming to make it six against an Adelaide side who will be full of confidence after their 3-1 win against Jeju United in the Asian Champions League on Tuesday night. 

Adelaide United vs Western Sydney Wanderers
Saturday 15 April, 7:50pm
Coopers Stadium

TV: Live coverage on Fox Sports 505
Radio: ABC Grandstand, Hawkesbury Radio
Online: Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #ADLvWSW 

Western Sydney Wanderers FC squad: 1.Jerrad TYSON (gk), 2.Shannon COLE, 5.Brendan HAMILL, 6.Mitch NICHOLS, 7.Steven LUSTICA, 8.DIMAS (c), 10.Nicolás MARTÍNEZ, 11.Brendon SANTALAB, 13.Bruno PIÑATARES, 15.Kearyn BACCUS, 17.Aritz BORDA, 18.Robert CORNTHWAITE, 20.Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), 21. Mario SHABOW, 24.Terry ANTONIS, 29.Ryan GRIFFITHS, 49.Abraham MAJOK, 54.Kosta GROZOS
**two to be omitted**

Ins: 2.Shannon COLE, 13.Bruno PIÑATARES, 17.Aritz BORDA, 21.Mario SHABOW, 29.Ryan GRIFFITHS, 49.Abraham MAJOK, 54. Kosta GROZOS (all promoted)
Outs: 3.Jack CLISBY, 12.Scott NEVILLE, 14.Jumpei KUSUKAMI, 22.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS, 23.Lachlan SCOTT (all rested)
Unavailable: 19.Jacob MELLING (back – indefinite)