Ins & Outs: Victory v Wanderers

Dean Heffernan

Head coach Dean Heffernan has named his extended squad for tomorrow’s trip to Lakeside Stadium to face Melbourne Victory.

The Wander Women kept alive their hopes of post-season action with an excellent 1-0 win over reigning champions Melbourne City last Thursday at the Wanderers Football Park.

The win saw Dean Heffernan’s team move to sixth place on the ladder with 10 points, four behind Victory who have a game in hand.

A Leena Khamis winner in the 70th minute, after great lead-up work from Teigan Collister, proved the difference for the Wander Women. 

Victory go into the game on the back of a 1-1 draw against Canberra United on the weekend. An Angie Beard strike in the ninth minute for Victory was canceled out by Nickoletta Flannery in the 47th minute. 

The Victorians have been in strong form in the past month, winning three in a row before Sunday’s draw with Canberra. 


Melbourne Victory v Western Sydney Wanderers 
Thursday 4 March, 7:05pm
Lakeside Stadium

Western Sydney Wanderers FC squad: 1.Sarah WILLACY (gk), 2.Caitiln COOPER, 3.Nikola ORGILL, 4.Margaux CHAUVET, 5.Courtney NEVIN, 6.Olivia PRICE, 7.Chloe MIDDLETON, 8.Erica HALLOWAY, 9.Bryleeh HENRY, 10.Libby COPUS-BROWN, 11.Danika MATOS, 12.Julie-Ann RUSSELL, 13.Georgia YEOMAN-DALE, 15.Rosie GALEA, 18.Sarah HUNTER, 19.Leena KHAMIS, 20.Courtney NEWBON (gk), 25.Teigan COLLISTER
**2 to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Courtney NEVIN (promoted), 7.Chloe MIDDLETON (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: Nil