Ins & Outs: Wanderers v City

Universal Fitness Group

Head coach Carl Robinson has named his extended squad for tomorrow night’s clash against Melbourne City at Bankwest Stadium.

Get tickets.

The Wanderers are back at Bankwest Stadium on Tuesday night to face Melbourne City in their rescheduled fixture. 

The Red & Black were left both disappointed and frustrated in their most recent match on Saturday which ended in a 3-2 loss to visitors Adelaide United.

Adelaide United staved off repeat comeback attempts from the Red & Black and held on for all three points.

The visitors twice raced out to a two-goal lead but second-half goals to Bruce Kamau and Mitch Duke kept the Wanderers in the contest until the final whistle blew, as the Wanderers’ seven-game unbeaten run came to an end.

There were plenty of positives to take from the match including Kamau continuing his fantastic personal form as well at Duke opening his goalscoring account, but the Wanderers will need to take their chances and not drop the ball when they come up against a red-hot Melbourne City tomorrow night.

Melbourne City bounced back to form with an impressive 3-2 win over Sydney FC in the Grand Final re-match last week.

City were in the drivers seat when they went up 3-0 in the 53rd minute thanks to a Jamie Maclaren brace and first half goal to Adrian Luna but Sydney FC ensured it would be a nervy ending for City, snatching two late goals.

Melbourne City will be looking to make it back-to-back wins when they come to Wanderland tomorrow night and the Red & Black will need to be very wary of Maclaren, who scored in every meeting between the two sides last season.

Building momentum is now vital for the Wanderers who following tomorrow night’s match will head to Ballarat to face Western United on Sunday.

Simon Cox

Western Sydney Wanderers v Melbourne City
Tuesday 2 March 2020, 7:00pm
Bankwest Stadium

Western Sydney Wanderers FC: 2.Ziggy GORDON, 4.Dylan MCGOWAN (C), 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 7.Bruce KAMAU, 8.Jordan O’DOHERTY, 9.Bernie IBINI, 10.Simon COX, 11.Kwame YEBOAH, 12.Mitchell DUKE, 13.Tate RUSSELL, 14.James TROISI, 17.Keanu BACCUS, 18.Graham DORRANS, 19.Jordon MUTCH, 27.Nicolai MULLER, 29.Daniel WILMERING, 30.Daniel MARGUSH, 33.Mark NATTA, 39.Thomas AQUILINA, 40.Noah JAMES (GK). 

Ins: 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI (promoted), 8.Jordan O’DOHERTY (promoted)
Outs: N/A
Unavailable: 6.Tass MOURDOUKOUTAS (ankle), 20.Vedran JANJETOVIC (long term injury)