Ins & Outs: Wanderers v Mariners

Head coach Marko Rudan has named his extended squad for Saturday night’s clash against the Mariners. Ins & Outs brought to you by ABAL Banking.

Get your tickets to the match here.

The Red & Black head into the fixture after a confident 4-0 display over their local rivals Macarthur FC last weekend at CommBank Stadium.

The Wanderers had registered just one victory in seven games prior to Saturday and looked to be in danger of slipping out of the top six.

But after red-hot forward Brandon Borrello got Western Sydney off the mark and Macarthur winger Craig Noone was sent off – all in the opening six minutes – Marko Rudan’s men were in cruise control at CommBank Stadium

Romain Amalfitano, Morgan Schneiderlin and Calem Nieuwenhof joined Borrello on the scoresheet to move Western Sydney up to third, level on points with the Central Coast Mariners.

The Mariners travel to Western Sydney off the back of a controversial 1-1 draw against Wellington Phoenix which saw red cards to both Brian Kaltak and head coach Nick Montgomery.

The Mariners led thanks to an early goal from James McGarry, firing home the opener against his former side. However, the game was flipped on its head when Central Coast defender Brian Kaltak was sent off early in the second-half for a challenge on Phoenix attacker David Ball.

It was Kaltak’s third red card of the season, having been sent off against Macarthur and Sydney FC earlier this season.

But with minutes to go, chaos ensued at Industree Group Stadium. A beautiful of invention from Oskar Zawada brought the ‘Nix level, cleverly back-heeling the ball into the back of the net in the fourth minute of second-half stoppage time.

Western Sydney Wanderers v Central Coast Mariners
Saturday 4 March 2023, 5:00pm
CommBank Stadium

Get your tickets to the match here

Western Sydney Wanderers FC: 1.Daniel MARGUSH (GK), 2.Gabriel CLEUR, 3.Adama TRAORE, 4.Morgan SCHNEIDERLIN, 5.Tomi MRCELA, 6.Marcelo (C), 8.Oliver BOZANIC, 9.Kusini YENGI, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Amor LAYOUNI, 14.Nicolas MILANOVIC, 16.Tom BEADLING, 17.Romain AMALFITANO, 19.Daniel WILMERING, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 21.Jarrod CARLUCCIO, 23. Yeni NGBAKOTO, 26.Brandon BORRELLO, 28.Calem NIEUWENHOF, 33.Alex BONETIG

Ins: 3.Adama TRAORE (returns from suspension), 23.Yeni NGBAKOTO (returns from suspension).

Outs: 32.Nathaneal Blair (not selected), 35.Zac SAPSFORD (not selected)

Unavailable: 30.Jack WARSHAWSKY (national team duty), 31.Aidan SIMMONS (national team duty), 36.Alessandro LOPANE (national team duty), 37.Alex BADOLATO (national team duty).