Ins & Outs: Wanderers v Victory

Head coach Marko Rudan has named his extended squad for Saturday night’s clash against Melbourne Victory. Ins & Outs brought to you by ABAL Banking.

The Red & Black head into the match after a chaotic 2-2 draw against local rivals Macarthur last weekend.

Macarthur hosted the Wanderers on Saturday night, and after falling behind to a Brandon Borrello strike, the Bulls answered back through Lachlan Rose and Al Hassan Toure to lead 2-1 in second-half stoppage time.

Toure’s goal came two minutes after Wanderers substitute Kusini Yengi hit the side netting after rounding Macarthur keeper Filip Kurto; that goal could have seen Western Sydney take all three points, but instead they were staring down a 2-1 defeat with just minutes to play.

Then came the ultimate finale: in the 96th minute, a free-kick swung into Macarthur’s defensive penalty area shaped as the Wanderers’ last hope. Up stepped Borrello to secure his brace with a brilliant header and steal a point back for the visitors, in a game which was truly unpredictable until its thrilling end.

Melbourne Victory similarly shared the spoils in a gritty 0-0 draw but it was an Isuzu UTE A-League battle not without controversy.

While Victory dominated for large periods, they were unable to breach a spirited Perth side at AAMI Park on Easter Sunday.

There was one standout moment at the death after Victory substitute Lleyton Brooks went down inside the penalty area in the seventh minute of stoppage time, under an apparent challenge from Jordan Elsey, who stuck out his boot.

It sparked a small melee as Glory players reacted angrily to Brooks’ appeal amid a VAR review, which denied Victory a last-gasp penalty in what is shaping up as a nail-biting race to the finals.

Perth defender Mark Beevers was sent off for a second yellow card as a result of his role in the chaos.

Match Details
Western Sydney Wanderers FC v Melbourne Victory
Saturday 15 April 2023, 7:45pm
CommBank Stadium

Western Sydney Wanderers FC: 1.Daniel MARGUSH (GK), 2.Gabriel CLEUR, 3.Adama TRAORE, 4.Morgan SCHNEIDERLIN, 5.Tomi MRCELA, 8.Oli BOZANIC, 9.Kusini YENGI, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Amor LAYOUNI, 14.Nicolas MILANOVIC, 16.Tom BEADLING, 17.Romain AMALFITANO, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 21.Jarrod CARLUCCIO, 23.Yeni NGBAKOTO, 26.Brandon BORRELLO, 28.Calem NIEUWENHOF, 31.Aidan SIMMONS, 33.Alexander BONETIG, 36.Alessandro LOPANE.

Ins: 2.Gabriel CLEUR (promoted), 36.Alessandro LOPANE (promoted)

Outs: N/A

Unavailable: 6.Marcelo (Suspended)