Kamau, Cooper crowned 2021 Wanderers Medal winners


Bruce Kamau and Caitlin Cooper have been crowned the club’s Wanderers Medal Player of the Year winners at tonight’s Wanderers Medal at the Coliseum in Rooty Hill.

Kamau was a force to be reckoned with during the 2020/21 season and also took home the Rod Allen Media Player of the Year, Members’ Player of the Year and Golden Boot Awards.

For the second time in her career, Cooper was crowned the W-League team’s Wanderers Medal for Player of the Year and was also named the club’s W-League Members’ Player of the Year after impressive performances in every single match this season.

A breakout season for young gun Rosie Galea saw her takeout the Golden Boot award in her first professional season of the Westfield W-League competition.

The Chairman’s Award for an outstanding contribution to the Western Sydney community was awarded to ANSA African Cup NSW Committee President Bernard Muchemwa for his work on the NSW African Cup hosted at Wanderers Football Park last year which saw a month-long celebration of the vibrant African heritage through football.

In other awards, Emma Calverley was named Wandercrew Volunteer of the Year and Ben Keyte was crowned the club’s Powerchair Player of the Year.

Bruce Kamau

Full list of award winners:

  • Wanderers Medal A-League Player of the Year: Bruce Kamau
  • Wanderers Medal Westfield W-League Player of the Year: Caitlin Cooper
  • A-League Members’ Player of the Year: Bruce Kamau
  • Westfield W-League Members’ Player of the Year: Caitiln Cooper
  • Powerchair Player of the Year: Ben Keyte
  • Rod Allen Media Player of the Year Award: Bruce Kamau
  • A-League Golden Boot: Bruce Kamau
  • Westfield W-League Golden Boot: Rosie Galea
  • Chairman’s Award: Bernard Muchemwa
  • Wandercrew Volunteer of the Year: Emma Calverley