NPL Wrap: U18s go through to the Grand Final


The Western Sydney Wanderers U18 squad have qualified for the NPL 2 Grand Final after a convincing 3-0 win over Mt Druitt Town Rangers on Saturday afternoon.

The Western Sydney Wanderers U18 squad have qualified for the NPL 2 Grand Final after a convincing 3-0 win over Mt Druitt Town Rangers on Saturday afternoon.

Goals from Kristian Popovic, Michael Osei-Adomako and Emmanuel Dolo saw the Red & Black make the Grand Final for the third year in a row. 

The Wanderers were under some pressure early on with Mark Natta and Jacob Casha making some vital blocks inside our penalty. 

The boys then got into the game and opened the scoring with 10 minutes played.  Nicolas Milanovic crossed from the right wing after a clever short corner routine and Popovic was on hand to sidefoot home from close range. 

Milanovic had the next clear opportunity but his 30-yard free kick was deflected wide of the target. 

The Red & Black were well in control at this stage and Mt Druitt were restricted to long-distance efforts.

The Wanderers continued their dominance in the second half with chances for Yousef Sawalha and Casha, before finally doubling their lead with just under 20 minutes to go. 

Sawalha started the move with a wonderful through ball to Dolo, who unselfishly squared the ball for Wanderers substitute Osei-Adomako to finish into an empty goal. 

The Red & Black kept pushing with Osei-Adomako testing the goalkeeper, before another substitute, George Antonis, had a goal ruled for offside. 

Dolo then rounded off the scoring with a goal of his own from 10 minutes from time, brilliantly curling the ball into the bottom corner with the outside of his boot. 

The victory means the Red & Black will play Central Coast Mariners in next week’s U18 Grand Final. Details will be announced in the coming days. 

Western Sydney Wanderers 3 (Kristian Popovic 10’, Michael Osei-Adomako 71’, Emmanuel Dolo 81’)
Mt Druitt Town Rangers 0

Western Sydney Wanderers: Elliot Carwardine, Leonardo Belz, Angelo Kalamvokis, Mark Natta, Ashton Ahluwahlia, Kristian Popovic (Nathan Tohme 85’), Nicolas Milanovic (George Antonis 63’), Yousef Sawalha (c), Emmanuel Dolo, Jacob Casha (Michael Osei-Adomako 65’), Stephan De Robillard (Jackson Mortimer 82’)
Unused substitute: Gabriel Osinga