Riera, Llorente and the Hyundai A-League Best XI on FIFA 19


Let the tactical planning begin.

EA Sports’ release of the FIFA 19 player rankings has generated discussion over the ordering of Hyundai A-League players and how best to fit them into teams.

But who makes the final cut for a team made out of the best-rated players in the competition?

Using a 4-1-2-1-2 formation, we have assembled the strongest possible Hyundai A-League XI on FIFA 19, and it has a distinctly Spanish flavour.

Hyundai A-League Best XI

Goalkeeper: Lawrence Thomas (69)

Right-back: Josh Risdon/Ritchie De Laet (71)

Centre-back: Alex Wilkinson (71)

Centre-back: Bart Schenkeveld (70)

Left-back: Raul Llorente (69)

Central defensive midfield: Isaias (72)

Right midfield: Keisuke Honda (78)

Left midfield: Diego Castro (75)

Central attacking midfield: Milos Ninkovic (75)

Striker: Bruno Fornaroli (76)

Striker: Oriol Riera (73)

Top five players in each position

Building an all-Hyundai A-League squad for FIFA Ultimate Team?

Here are your five strongest options in each area of the pitch.


Goalkeepers: Lawrence Thomas (69), Jamie Young (67), Paul Izzo (67), Vedran Janjetovic (66), Filip Kurto (65)

Melbourne Victory man Thomas has been anointed the finest Hyundai A-League gloveman on the game following his most impressive season to date.

Colossal in the Grand Final, he was outstanding right throughout the latter third of last term and edges out Brisbane Roar’s Jamie Young for a spot in the best XI.

Paul Izzo and Vedran Janjetovic slot in at third and fourth respectively, while new Wellington Phoenix shot-stopper Filip Kurto is in at fifth.


Defenders: Alex Wilkinson (71), Josh Risdon (71), Ritchie De Laet (71), Bart Schenkeveld (70), Raul Llorente (69)

The title of the highest-ranked defender isn’t so straightforward, with a three-way tie on 71.

Alex Wilkinson’s consistent excellence for Sydney FC hasn’t gone unnoticed and sees him share top spot with Josh Risdon – who played every match for the Caltex Socceroos at the FIFA World Cup™ – and Melbourne City newcomer Ritchie De Laet.

His team-mate Bart Schenkeveld and another Western Sydney Wanderers full-back, Raul Llorente, round out the top five.

Midfielders: Keisuke Honda (78), Milos Ninkovic (75), Diego Castro (75), Eric Bautheac (75), Siem de Jong (73)

Victory marquee Keisuke Honda tops the lot as he enters the competition fresh from scoring for Japan in Russia.

There are no surprises that Milos Ninkovic and Diego Castro are rated well, the pair having won the Johnny Warren Medal in two of the last three seasons.

Brisbane Roar’s Eric Bautheac joins them on 75 while exciting Sydney FC signing Siem de Jong is a further two points back.


Forwards: Bruno Fornaroli (76), Oriol Riera (73), Roy Krishna (72), Kosta Barbarouses (70), Adam Taggart (69)

‘El Tuna’ is the standout Australia-based striker this year as he sits three points clear of Wanderers centre-forward Riera.

Roy Krishna’s pace makes him a tasty proposition, and Kosta Barbarouses could also be a crafty choice on the right wing.

Adam Taggart, fifth among the forwards, might well climb the list come this time next year if he hits top form for Brisbane.