Riera, Santa fire Wanderers to victory


The Western Sydney Wanderers have wrapped up a strong pre-season camp in Queensland with a 2-0 win against NPL side Moreton Bay United at Wolter Park on Saturday evening.

A first half strike from Oriol Riera and a Brendon Santalab wonder-goal in the second half clinched the win, which follows Tuesday’s 3-1 win over fellow NPL QLD outfit Brisbane City.

The Wanderers had the first chance of the match when Jumpei Kusukami found Roly Bonevacia with a cutback but the latter couldn’t keep his shot down.


Moreton Bay

Jumpei had a chance to break the deadlock himself with a quick snap shot from inside the box but he was denied by a smart save from the Moreton Bay keeper.

Josh Risdon should’ve perhaps found the net when he cut inside from the right but his left-footed strike was palmed away superbly by the keeper.

The Wanderers would open the scoring in the 29th minute when Riera collected the ball on the edge of the box before curling a left-footed effort inside the far post.


Moreton Bay

Following the restart, birthday boy Santalab had an early opportunity to get his name on the scoresheet but he flashed his effort wide of the mark.

Though the Wanderers’ greatest ever goalscorer would add a second soon after in quite remarkable fashion as he met a cross from trialist Nick Krousoratis with a spectacular bicycle kick.


Moreton Bay

John Hall produced a fine save late in the second half to keep Moreton Bay scoreless as the Wanderers comfortably rode out the result.

The Red & Black will now look ahead to their Westfield FFA Cup Quarter Final against Blacktown City on Wednesday 20 September at Lilys Football Centre, before kicking off their Hyundai A-League season against Perth Glory on Sunday 8 October at Spotless Stadium.

Moreton Bay United 0
Western Sydney Wanderers 2 (Oriol Riera 29’, Brendon Santalab 66’)

Western Sydney Wanderers: Vedran Janjetovic, Josh Risdon, Brendan Hamill, Michael Thwaite, Raúl Llorente, Kearyn Baccus (C), Chris Herd, Jumpei Kusukami, Roly Bonevacia, Jaushua Sotirio, Oriol Riera

Substitutes: Jack Clisby, Jacob Melling, Steven Lustica, Brendon Santalab, Mark Bridge, Marc Tokich, Jonathan Aspropatamitis, Lachlan Scott, John Hall, Keanu Baccus, Abraham Majok, Nick Krousoratis