Sister Cities Shield in contention this Sunday

This Sunday afternoon’s double header at CommBank Stadium will see the Wanderers and Wellington Phoenix battle for the Sister Cities Shield at CommBank Stadium.

Formalised close to 40 years ago, the sister cities agreement between Blacktown City in Western Sydney and Porirua in Wellington was established to promote cultural and commercial ties between the two cities.

The Sister Cities Agreement has seen a wide range of activities including sport, education, culture and the arts enhance the experiences of both local communities.

The first A-Leagues match celebrating this relationship was in 2018 with the Wanderers winning the inaugural Sister Cities Shield.

Fast forward to 2023 and this Sunday will see both the Isuzu UTE A-League and Liberty A-League teams battle for the Shield in what is set to be an exciting afternoon of football at CommBank Stadium.

Western Sydney Wanderers v Wellington Phoenix
Isuzu UTE A-League Men Kick-Off: 3:00pm
Liberty A-League Women Kick-Off: 5:45pm