Spiranovic and Topor-Stanley voted central defender pairing in Team of the Decade

Matthew Spiranovic and Nikolai Topor-Stanley have been voted by Wanderers members as the two central defenders in the club’s Team of the Decade.

Spiranovic joined the Wanderers in 2014 following stints at giants Al-Arabi, Urawa Red Diamonds, and FC Nurnberg and played a significant role in both the Wanderers domestic and Asian campaigns. 

The popular defender was an important part of the Wanderers charge to the A-League Grand Final in 2014 and scored the opener against Brisbane Roar.

Such immense performances in the A-League saw Spiranovic named in the PFA Team of the Year as well as playing every minute of the Socceroos 2014 World Cup Finals campaign. 

Spiranovic went on to win the Asian double during his time at the club.

Part of the backline that conceded only a single goal at home, Spiranovic played in both legs of the Wanderers AFC Champions League Final against Al-Hilal.

The defender was also called up to the Socceroos, this time playing all but 90 minutes in the Asian Cup as the national team won the trophy for the first time in history.Spiranovic

A foundation player, Nikolai Topor-Stanley had an incredible four seasons in the Red & Black that saw him captain the club for two seasons as well as play in three Grand Finals and win the Asian Champions League and A-League Premiers Plate. 

With 125 appearances for the Wanderers including 103 Hyundai A-League, 14 AFC Champions League, five  FFA Cup and one FIFA Club World Cup appearance, Nikolai was an ever-present for the Wanderers and was selected in the PFA Team of the Year in the 2012/13 & 2015/16 seasons as well as winning the Wanderers Medal in 2015 and Members Player of the Year in 2013.

In 2013 Nikolai was also selected in the maiden Foxtel A-League All Stars side that took on Manchester United.

Spiranovic and Topor-Stanley will now be honoured in a lapel pin that can be collected by Wanderers members during Season X at Wanderland. 

Voting for the Team of the Decade continues with your choice of two midfielders. Voting for your choice of number ten will take place next week.