Sydney FC Youth too good for Wanderers


Sydney FC scored a comfortable 3-0 win over city rivals Western Sydney Wanderers in the National Youth League.

Sydney FC scored a comfortable 3-0 win over city rivals Western Sydney Wanderers at Campbelltown Stadium, in the maiden National Youth League encounter between the two sides.

Two first-half strikes set up the win in a match played at good tempo despite the warm conditions in Sydney-s west.

Daniel Petrovski and Alec Urosevski got the Sky Blues on their way, with Urosevski collecting a second midway through the second half to complete the scoring.

The home side were not without their chances and Daniel Barac blazed wide when he had an early sight of goal.

However, it was Sydney FC who opened the scoring, albeit with a small slice of luck. Captain Peter Triantis delivered a well-flighted corner which hit a defender and fell perfectly for Petrovski to gleefully sweep home on the quarter-hour mark.

The Wanderers enjoyed half-chances through James Baldacchino and Zakeriya Elrich, but it was the Sky Blues that soon doubled their advantage.

Urosevski burst past a couple of would-be tacklers at speed and slotted a neat shot inside the near post to give Sydney FC a somewhat flattering two-goal early advantage.

After the interval the Wanderers had, perhaps, their best sight of goal, as Barac delivered a storming back post header which goalkeeper Anthony Bouzanis did well to smother.

Despite much endeavour from both sides, gilt-edged chances remained at a premium, with the goalkeepers, especially Bouzanis, remaining spectators for lengthy periods.

The scoring was rounded out 20 minutes from time with Urosevski providing a smart far post header after profiting from a perfect run and delivery by Nikola Taneski.

The result leaves the pair sharing nine points after eight rounds.

Western Sydney Wanderers 0
Sydney FC 3 (Petrovski 15′, Urosevski 26′, 70′)

Western Sydney Wanderers: 1. Aaron LIDDELL, 2. Zakeriya ELRICH (12. Brian JAMBA 60′), 3. Jacob WILLIAMS, 4. Stepjan PARIC, 5. James BALDACCHINO (13. Jack MADGWICK 56′), 6. Yianni PERKATIS, 7. Nicholas OLSEN (14. Alistair QUINN 60′), 8. Reece CAIRA, 9. Daniel BARAC, 10. Jake MCGING, 11. Tarek ELRICH

Sydney FC: 1. Anthony BOUZANIS (gk), 3. Aaron CALVER, 5. Daniel PETROVSKI, 7. Joshua MCDONALD (2. Keifer DOTTI 60′), 8. Peter TRIANTIS, 10. Christopher NAUMOFF (9. Nikola TANESKI h/t), 11. Tom SLATER, 14. Jared LUM, 15. Trent MCCLENAHAN, 16. Alex UROSEVSKI, 17. Theo KOFINAS (12. Lukas STERGIOU 75′)