Thomas wins Golden Glove

Wanderers goalkeeper Lawrence Thomas was named the best goalkeeper for the men’s competition at last night’s Dolan Warren Awards in Sydney.

Goodwin and Chidiac have been named as this year’s recipients of the two highest individual honours the game here can bestow, winning the Johnny Warren Medal and the Julie Dolan Medal respectively at the Dolan Warren Awards at The Star in Sydney in front of more than 100 of their peers, coaches and – for the first time – more than 150 supporters.

Midfielder Sarah Hunter, a dominant figure as Sydney FC did the double this season, was named the brightest young talent in the Liberty A-League, while Melbourne City leftback Jordan Bos gained further reward for a break-out season in which his team won the Premier’s Plate as his club won the Club Championship. Bos will make his final appearance for City in Saturday night’s Grand Final against the Mariners before completing a record-breaking transfer to Belgian side KVC Westerlo.

Adelaide United’s Carl Veart earned some measure of consolation for losing the Semi Final against the Mariners after he was named the Isuzu UTE A-League Men’s Coach of the Year, while Mark Torcaso of Western United took out the Liberty A-League Women’s Coach of the Year after his team’s extraordinary debut season that took them all the way to the Grand Final.

The A-Leagues’ respective Golden Boots were won by Hannah Keane from Western United who scored 13 goals in the regular season, and by Melbourne City’s Jamie Maclaren for his 23 goals for the regular season. Maclaren was also honoured for becoming the top goalscorer in A-League Men’s history with 144 goals.

Sarah Hunter’s Sydney teammate, Madison Haley, won Goal of the Year in the Liberty A-League for her strike against Brisbane while Giordano Colli of Perth Glory took out the honour in the Isuzu UTE A-League for his goal against Adelaide.

n the Golden Glove award for Goalkeeper of the Year, Western United’s Hilary Beall took out the women’s title while Western Sydney Wanderers’ Lawrence Thomas was named the best goalkeeper for the men’s competition.

In a first for the event, A-Leagues invited more than 150 fans to be present at the Awards  representing every team in the league. Throughout the season fans had also voted on their favourite players with Wellington’s Oskar Zawada and Melbourne City’s Maria Rojas taking their place as fan favourites.

Full List of Winners

Men’s Referee of the YearChris Beath
Women’s Referee of the YearCasey Reibelt
Men’s Fair Play AwardBrisbane Roar
Women’s Fair Play AwardCanberra United
Women’s Coach of the YearMark Torcaso – WUN
Men’s Coach of the YearCarl Veart – ADL
Men’s Fan Player of the YearOskar Zawada – WEL
Women’s Fan Player of the YearMaria Rojas – MCY
Women’s Golden Glove – Goalkeeper of the YearHillary Beall – WUN
Men’s Golden Glove – Goalkeeper of the YearLawrence Thomas – WSW
Women’s Save of the YearHilary Beall – WUN
Men’s Save of the YearAndrew Redmayne – SYD
Men’s Golden Boot – Top Goal Scorer of the YearJamie Maclaren – MCY
Women’s Golden Boot – Top Goal Scorer of the YearHannah Keane – WUN
Women’s Goal of the YearMadison Haley – SYD
Men’s Goal of the YearGiordano Colli – PER
Men’s Young Footballer of the YearJordan Bos – MCY
Women’s Young Footballer of the YearSarah Hunter – SYD
Julie Dolan Medal – Women’s Player of the YearAlex Chidiac – MVC
Johnny Warren Medal – Men’s Player of the YearCraig Goodwin – ADL
A-Leagues Club ChampionshipMelbourne City