Two Wanderers named in Australia U16 squad for Mongolia Mission


New Joeys Head Coach Peter Cklamovski has confirmed his 23-player squad for the forthcoming 2018 AFC U-16 Championship Qualifiers to be held in Mongolia.

Leonardo Belz and Dylan Craus from the Wanderers Academy have been included in the squad. 

Cklamovski’s squad in Mongolia features a mix of players who are currently aligned to Hyundai A-League clubs, National Premier Leagues (NPL) sides, national academies, as well as two – Diego Alonso and Tristan Hammond – who are currently based overseas.

Cklamovski said that finalising his squad for Mongolia was a difficult process, but believes that that demonstrates the depth that is coming through at youth level.

“There has been some tough decisions made to get to the final 23 and that’s a good sign of the depth starting to get created within this age group,” said Cklamovski.

“We have attempted to broaden the net in terms of player scouting and this process is in its infancy and it will continue to evolve and improve.

“We’ve had a great training camp at Valentine Park and now we travel to Mongolia and fine tune our preparations for AFC Qualifiers. The players are gaining an understanding of how we want to play as a team and it’s exciting to see the progress we are making in a short space of time.

“It’s imperative we capitalise on every minute available to us and maximise our time together to ensure we hit the ground running in what will be a competitive qualification stage,” Cklamovski concluded.

The Joeys will take on hosts Mongolia, as well as Cambodia and Vietnam in Ulaanbaatar from Wednesday 20 September through to Sunday 24 September 2017.

Should the Joeys side finish top of Group I in Mongolia his squad will book its place at the 2018 AFC U-16 Championships which will be held in Malaysia next year.

The five best group runners up will also make it to Malaysia for next year’s tournament, which will be held in September and October 2018.

.tg {border-collapse:collapse;border-spacing:0;} .tg td{font-family:Arial, sans-serif;font-size:12px;padding:10px 5px;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;overflow:hidden;word-break:normal;} .tg th{font-family:Arial, sans-serif;font-size:14px;font-weight:normal;padding:10px 5px;border-style:solid;border-width:1px;overflow:hidden;word-break:normal;} .tg .tg-yw4l{vertical-align:top}

First Name Last Name Club, Country
Diego Alonso Alboraya Academy, Spain
Leonardo Belz Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia
Noah Botic Sydney Olympic FC, Australia
Jordan Courtney Queensland Academy Sport, Australia
Dylan Craus Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia
Luke Duzel Melbourne City FC, Australia
Tristan Hammond Sporting CP, Portugal
Birkan Kirdar Melbourne Victory, Australia
Jaiden Kucharski Sydney FC, Australia
Marco Mancuso Hume City FC, Australia
Dalibor Markovic Marconi Stallions FC, Australia
Adam Pavlesic Sydney FC, Australia
Cameron Peupion Sydney FC, Australia
Joseph Roddy APIA Leichardt Tigers FC, Australia
Tyson Savas Sydney FC, Australia
Lachlan Sepping Marconi Stallions FC, Australia
Jamie Signorello Adelaide United, Australia
Corey Smith Blacktown City FC, Australia
Ahmad Taleb Melbourne City FC, Australia
Ryan Teague Sydney FC, Australia
Nicholas Theodosiou Melbourne City FC, Australia
Joshua Varga Nunawading City FC, Australia
Jade Waring Glen Eira FC, Australia