VIDEO | Young Socceroos


Alessi, Fofanah and Manos discuss their selection for the Young Socceroos.

Young Socceroos coach Paul Okon has selected five Wanderers players for his 23 man training camp squad.

The training camp is the second as part of the Young Socceroos preparations for the AFC U-19 Championship in Myanmar in October this year, which also double as qualification tournament for the FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand which will be held in July 2015.

Okon is excited about working with this group of players for the first time this year.

“This is the first of four training camps that we will have in the lead up to the World Cup qualifiers (AFC U-19 Championship) in October,” said Okon.

“Although many of the players were at the December training camp, we have also brought in some new players to have a look at.

“At the moment our goal is to identify as many players as possible that could fit into the squad as well as working on the structure and style of play that we want to take into the tournament.

“With the Foxtel National Youth League wrapping up in a few weeks, these camps will become even more important in the coming months,” concluded Okon.

The Young Socceroos will play a training match against the Marconi Stallions at 6:45pm on Wednesday evening at Marconi Stadium.

Young Socceroos Squad List – Sydney Training Camp – 17 to 19 February 2014

Daniel Alessi – Western Sydney Wanderers Alusine Fofanah – Western Sydney Wanderers Lawrence Hanna – Western Sydney Wanderers Thomas Manos (gk) – Western Sydney Wanderers Shayne D-Cunha – Western Sydney Wanderers Shannon Brady – Brisbane Roar Jordan Brown – Melbourne Victory Brandon Borello – Brisbane Roar Devante Clut – Brisbane Roar Daniel De Silva – Perth Glory Michael Kantarovski – Newcastle Jets Jordan Lampard – Brisbane Roar Awer Mabil – Adelaide United Joshua Macdonald – Sydney FC Marc Marino – AIS Mark Ochieng – AIS Luke Radonich(gk) – Perth Glory Liam Rose – AIS Jordan Thurtell (gk) – AIS George Timotheou – AIS Jaiden Walker – Brisbane Roar Ben Warland – AIS Riley Woodcock – Perth Glory