Wanderers remain undefeated in pre-season


Western Sydney Wanderers proved that last week’s 8-0 win over Marconi was no fluke when they defeated Mt Druitt Town Rangers on Thursday night.

The 4-0 win means the Red & Black have two victories in their two NPL pre-season matches so far after Lachlan Roberts, Lachlan Scott, Brenton Fox and Mathieu Cordier all scored goals.
Without a contingent of Hyundai A-League players this time around, the match against Mt Druitt was tipped to provide a clearer picture of how the young Wanderers would adjust to NPL competition.
And signs were good early on as Lachlan Roberts opened the scoring as midfielder Josh Gaspari initiated a switch of play to the rampaging wing-back to cut inside and shoot.
Despite the lack of Hyundai A-League players, the Wanderers were playing well and dictating tempo: negating the physical disparity between the teams and creating a number of attacks.
The second half played out similar to the first with a quick fire two goals to extend the lead to 3-0.
Scott, who scored a hat-trick on five minutes last week, grabbed the first of the half before Brenton Fox scored his first goal since joining the club.
Roberts, who was playing some decent minutes for the first time since injury in the Foxtel National Youth League, was the creator, cutting back for Fox to finish.
By this time both teams had made a number of substitutes and the match was all but over when Mathieu Cordier poked home from close range after good lead up work by Ramy Najjarine.
Next up for the Wanderers’ NPL team is Macarthur Rams on Thursday 11 February at Lynwood Park. Kick-off at 7:30pm.
Mt Druitt Town Rangers 0
Western Sydney Wanderers 4 (Lachlan Roberts 13’ Lachlan Scott 60’ Brenton Fox 62’ Mathieu Cordier 83’)
WSW XI: Matthew Symes (GK), Lachlan Roberts, Shayne D’Cunha, Henry Davies, Alusine Fofanah, Keanu Baccus, Cameron Devlin, Joshua Gaspari, Tariq Maia, Kyle Cimenti, Lachlan Scott
: Daniel Axford (GK), Perry Fotakopoulos, Matthieu Cordier, Malcolm Ward, Ramy Najjarine, Brenton Fox
U20s: Mt Druitt 2-3 Western Sydney Wanderers