Westfield W-League draw released


Football Federation Australia (FFA) today officially released the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season draw which will once again feature every match either broadcast or streamed live on FOX SPORTS, ABC TV, Kayo and on the My Football Live app.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today officially released the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season draw which will once again feature every match either broadcast or streamed live on FOX SPORTS, ABC TV, Kayo and on the My Football Live app. 

After being successfully introduced last season, the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season will see Thursday Night Football return which means 14 stand-alone regular season matches will be played in prime-time, broadcast live on FOX SPORTS and live streamed on Kayo and the My Football Live app. In addition, we will see 4 double-headers (3 Friday/1 Saturday) broadcast live on FOX SPORTS and 14 regular season matches played on Sunday afternoons, broadcast live on FOX SPORTS & ABC TV as well as streamed live on Kayo and the My Football Live app.  

The twelfth season of the Westfield W-League will kick-off with the Western Sydney Wanderers FC hosting Adelaide United on Thursday 14 November 2019 at Marconi Stadium. The remaining matches of the opening round will be played on Sunday 17 November with the Big Blue between Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Canberra United facing Perth Glory at McKellar Park and the Newcastle Jets are up against the Melbourne City FC at the No. 2 Sportsground.

The Westfield W-League 2020 Finals Series will begin over the weekend of 14-15 March 2020 with the Westfield W-League 2020 Grand Final scheduled for the weekend of 21-22 March 2020.

W-League Membership

FFA’s Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke said that the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season will kick-off after the November FIFA Women’s International match dates to ensure that the best players are showcased from Round 1.

“With the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 effectively pushing back the end date of the NWSL, we made the decision, in collaboration with the Clubs and the Professional Women’s Football Committee, to start the Westfield W-League 2019/20 season after the NWSL Grand Final and after the women’s FIFA international window to give the large number of players who move between the NWSL and the Westfield W-League the opportunity to join their Club prior to the competition starting,” said O’Rourke.

“We have also held very productive discussions with the NWSL to work collaboratively to the mutual benefit of both Leagues in the future.

“In big news for our fans, this season we also welcome back ABC TV as the Westfield W-League’s free-to-air TV partner who will broadcast 14 regular season matches on Sunday afternoons (4pm (AEDT)) as well as all of the Westfield W-League 2020 Finals Series matches live. We are very proud that we will have 35 matches broadcast on TV for Season 2019/20.

“There will be breaks in the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season for the FIFA Women’s International window in January-February and March, when the Westfield Matildas are scheduled to potentially play their Olympic Games Qualification matches.

“With the boom in Women’s football globally we are excited in the knowledge that more than 20 of the Westfield Matildas from the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 squad have chosen to return this season. We are one of the top leagues in the world and I am looking forward to the watching another exciting season of the Westfield W-League,” concluded O’Rourke.