2020 Female Football Awards: All the Westfield W-League nominations


The Female Football awards will be held on Friday, recognising the incredible contribution by both women and men in football at all levels of the game in Australia.

Here’s all you need to know about the awards, nominations and all the different categories up for grabs at the prestigious ceremony. 

What are the Female Football Awards?

The Female Football Awards recognise the role of women in our great game.

As well as highlighting work done by women at both Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League clubs, it also shines a light on the unique stories and volunteers at Member Federation and grassroots level.

The Female Football Awards are held annually on as part of FFA’s continued commitment to growing the women’s game at all levels.

The awards recognise and acknowledge achievements made in women’s football over the past year and bring together all facets of the women’s game from a national through to grassroots level.

What awards are up for grabs?

There are a range of different awards that will be presented on the day, ranging from awards for the coaches and administration staff, to accolades for fans at a community level.

Perhaps the most prestigious gong is the Role Model Award, which was won last year by Sydney FC defender Ally Green.

The nominations for 2020 are:

  • Chelsie Dawber – Adelaide United
  • Shay Evans – Sydney FC
  • Leticia McKenna – Perth Glory
  • Tessa Tamplin – Newcastle Jets
  • Ellie Carpenter – Melbourne City
  • Indiah-Paige Riley – Brisbane Roar
  • Courtney Nevin –  Western Sydney Wanderers

Courtney Nevin

Female coach of the Year

In the Hyundai A-League/Westfield W-League category, the Female Coach of the Year in 2019 was taken out by former Brisbane Roar boss Mel Andreatta.

In the running this year is:

  • Alice Kriesler – Sydney FC Fan Engagement Officer and W-League Assistant Coach
  • Jessine Bonzas – Perth Glory Assistant Coach
  • Ash Wilson – Newcastle Jets Coach
  • Gabrielle Blanch – Central Coast Mariners Academy Women’s 17s Coach and Club Captain
  • Melissa Barbieri – Melbourne City Westfield W-League goalkeeper and assistant coach
  • Laura Bryant – Brisbane Roar Active Program Sporting Schools Coach
  • Catherine Cannuli – Western Sydney Wanderers Assistant Coach


Female Administrator of the Year

The 2019 Female Administrator of the Year was Nicola Browne from Newcastle Jets, with a stack of excellent nominations for this year’s prize.

They include:

  • Sue Blaess – Volunteer, Ball Crew Coordinator (Adelaide United)
  • Sarah Floratos – Community Programs Coordinator (Sydney FC)
  • Robyn Connor – Community Manager (Wellington Phoenix)
  • Gulcan Koca – Community Football and Diversity Manager (Melbourne Victory)
  • Bronwyn Vaughan – Female Support Staff (Newcastle Jets)
  • Sue Crow – Head of Community (Melbourne City)
  • Rizka Laya – Operations & Events Coordinator (Brisbane Roar)
  • Cheyanne Girvan – Manager Canberra University and Canberra University Academy (Canberra United)
  • Mikayla Mantouroglou – Westfield W-League S&C (Intern) (Western Sydney Wanderers)


Female Fan of the Year

Fans are a crucial part of football and last year’s Female Fan of the Year was Chris McAlister from Brisbane Roar.

This year’s contenders are:

  • Amelia Ayles – Adelaide United
  • Kerri Cramb – Sydney FC
  • Amanda Wetzel – Newcastle Jets
  • Sharon Pascoe – Central Coast Mariners
  • Stephanie Pasceri – Melbourne City
  • Sonya McDonald – Western United
  • Chris McAlister – Brisbane Roar
  • Ingrid Laursen – Canberra United
  • Kellie Van Gool – Western Sydney Wanderers

Kellie Van Gool

Male Champion of the Year

The final category is the Male Champion of the Year, which was Melbourne Victory’s Jeff Hopkins in 2019.

The nominees for this year are:

  • Sean Sheey – Male Champion (Adelaide United)
  • Anthony Harb – Westfield W-League Assistant Coach and Player Host Family (Sydney FC)
  • Neil Bennett – Journalist for The Women’s Game (Perth Glory)
  • Craig Deans – Male Champion (Newcastle Jets)
  • Dan Barrett – Women’s NPL2 Head Coach & Head of Female Performance (Central Coast Mariners)
  • Jake Goodship – Westfield W-League Head Coach (Brisbane Roar)
  • Phil Brown – CEO of Capital Football (Canberra United)
  • Dean Heffernan – Westfield W-League Head Coach (Western Sydney Wanderers)