Hunt, Baccus take out Wanderers Medal honours

Clare Hunt and Keanu Baccus have been crowned 2022 Wanderers Medal winners at the Wanderers Medal hosted tonight at Doltone House in Club Marconi.

Baccus was awarded the Wanderers Medal for the second time in his burgeoning career, having also taken out the honour in 2019.

The Western Sydney local and fan favourite featured in almost every match for the club this season and has continued his role as a leader and ambassador for the Wanderers faithful.

Hunt was awarded the Medal in her very first season at the Red & Black after joining the club in September.

An important figure in the Wanderers defence, Hunt played a pivotal part in the squad and was named in the PFA’s Team of the Season prior to her season-ending injury.

Adama Traore went home with two awards, the Rod Allen Media Award for Media Player of the Year and Wanderers Members’ Player of the Year. 

For the second year running, Liberty A-League co-captain Caitlin Cooper was voted the Members’ Player of the Year.

The Chairman’s Award, presented annually by Paul Lederer for contribution to the Western Sydney community, was awarded to Frances Refalo for her contribution to the Nepean Football Association and the Wanderers matchday coordination roles. 

Tomer Hemed and Ashlie Crofts took out the honours for the Golden Boot in their respective competitions while in other awards, the Powerchair Player of the Year was awarded to Jordan Crane, and the Wandercrew Volunteer of the Year was shared between Brendon Stockton and Richard Sievwright.

The Wanderers Medal also announced the recipients of the Western Sydney Wanderers Indigenous Scholarship which was offered to first year undergraduate students at Western Sydney University who identify as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander, supported by the Wanderers Foundation.

Recipients Jaala Sadler and Samantha Skundric were awarded the financial scholarship which includes an 80-hour internship with the Western Sydney Wanderers.

The Wanderers also acknowledged the support of their partners who have supported the club since it’s foundation year with Astute Training, Blacktown City Council, Business Clarity, Club  Marconi, Gallagher, Hydraulic Distributors, Pozitive, Vaccaro Group and Westfield all presented a commemorative plaque for their 10 years of support of the club.

Full list of award winners:

  • Wanderers Medal for Isuzu UTE A-League Player of the Year: Keanu Baccus
  • Wanderers Medal for Liberty A-League Player of the Year: Clare Hunt
  • Isuzu UTE A-League Members’ Player of the Year: Adama Traore
  • Liberty A-League Members’ Player of the Year: Caitlin Cooper
  • Isuzu UTE A-League Golden Boot: Tomer Hemed
  • Liberty A-League Golden Boot: Ashlie Crofts
  • Powerchair Player of the Year: Jordan Crane
  • Rod Allen Award for Media Player of the Year: Adama Traore
  • Chairman’s award: Frances Refalo
  • Wandercrew Volunteer of the Year: Brendan Stockton and Richard Sievwright