Ins & Outs: Sydney Derby


Hyundai A-League interim head coach Jean-Paul de Marigny has named his squad for Friday night’s Sydney Derby. Sign-up to MATE, internet from $59, mobile from $20. 1 month risk free guarantee!

Sydney FC may be runaway leaders in the Hyundai A-League this season but they face the only side they have yet to beat in 2019/20 when they host local rivals Western Sydney Wanderers on Friday night in a rescheduled match from Round 18.

The Sky Blues only blemish so far this campaign came in the first Sydney Derby back in Round 3 and it’s a result that is sure to still be stinging Steve Corica’s troops.

Both clubs have ensured contrasting fortunes since that 1-0 scoreline at Bankwest Stadium, with the Sky Blues opening up a 13-point lead at the top of the ladder on the back on a 13-game unbeaten run, including Sunday’s 3-0 win over Central Coast Mariners.

While the Wanderers have improved since Jean-Paul de Marigny has taken the reins, they have work to do if they want to play finals football.

The Red and Black head into this one five points adrift of the top six but unbeaten in their last three matches, including their 5-2 drubbing of Adelaide United last time out.

They seem to have their confidence restored and in Mitch Duke, Simon Cox and Nicolai Müller have an attacking trio full of threat – but they will need to go to another level to topple the Sky Blues.

Sydney FC are unbeaten in their last eight home derbies against the Wanderers and it should be a sellout crowd at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium for this Friday night blockbuster.

Friday 28 February 2020
Kick-off: 8pm AEDT
Venue: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Western Sydney Wanderers FC squad: 1.Daniel LOPAR (GK), 4.Dylan McGOWAN, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Matthew JURMAN, 7.Mitchell DUKE (c), 8.Jordan O’DOHERTY, 9.Nicolai MULLER, 10.Simon COX, 11.Bruce KAMAU, 13.Tass MOURDOUKOUTAS, 17.Keanu BACCUS, 19.Pirmin SCHWEGLER, 22.Nicholas SULLIVAN, 23.Kosta GROZOS, 27.Kwame YEBOAH, 33.Tate RUSSELL, 34.Patrick ZIEGLER, 35.Mohamed ADAM, 40.Nicholas SUMAN (GK), 62.Ali AUGLAH

**1-3 to be omitted**

Ins: 27.Kwame YEBOAH (promoted), 62.Ali AUGLAH (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 20.Vedran JANJETOVIC (shoulder), 29.Daniel WILMERING (knee), Radoslaw MAJEWSKI (knee)