Ins & Outs: Sydney Derby


Hyundai A-League interim head coach Jean-Paul de Marigny has names his squad for Saturday night’s Sydney Derby. Sign-up to MATE, internet from $59, mobile from $20. 1 month risk free guarantee!

The Sky Blues may be sitting pretty at the top of the Hyundai A-League ladder – 10 points clear of second-place Melbourne City – but there’s a glaring hole in their 2019/20 campaign so far.

And it involves the other half of the Harbour City. Steve Corica’s troops have lost just two of their 19 games so far this season, with both of those coming against the Wanderers.

The most recent of those came just last month with Mitch Duke’s towering header giving the Red and Black a memorable 1-0 win on Sydney FC’s own turf.

That was a combustible contest which saw the Wanderers’ Daniel Georgievski sent off, with the defender’s return from suspension adding even more spice to this clash.

In terms of the ladder, Saturday night’s battle at Bankwest Stadium is more important to the hosts, who are currently in eighth spot and two points outside the finals places.

While the stands may be empty, the action on the pitch will still be white-hot ensuring a contest not to be missed.

Saturday 21 March 2020
Kick off: 7:30pm AEDT
Venue: Bankwest Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Western Sydney Wanderers FC: 1.Daniel LOPAR (GK), 4.Dylan McGOWAN, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Matthew JURMAN, 7.Mitchell DUKE, 8.Jordan O’DOHERTY, 9.Nicolai MULLER, 10.Simon COX, 11.Bruce KAMAU, 13.Tass MOURDOUKOUTAS, 17.Keanu BACCUS, 22.Nicholas SULLIVAN, 23.Kosta GROZOS, 27.Kwame YEBOAH, 31.Noah PAGDEN, 33.Tate RUSSELL, 34.Patrick ZIEGLER, 35.Mohamed ADAM, 36.Jarrod CARLUCCIO, 50.Tristan PRENDERGAST (GK).

Ins: 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI (returns from suspension), 11.Bruce KAMAU (promoted), 17.Keanu BACCUS (promoted), 27.Kwame YEBOAH (promoted), 34.Patrick ZIEGLER (returns from suspension), 50.Tristan PRENDERGAST (promoted)
Outs: 19.Pirmin SCHWEGLER (suspended – one week), 60.Oliver KALAC (not selected)
Unavailable: 20.Vedran JANJETOVIC (shoulder), 29.Daniel WILMERING (knee), Radoslaw MAJEWSKI (knee)