Launch of E-League Group Stages

The draw for the Group Stages of E-League 2022 has produced some tantalising matches and storylines which are sure to excite esports fans across Australia.

In Group A, there will be a real David versus Goliath battle when Western United’s Dylan Campbell, the number one ranked player in Oceania, faces off against Path-to-E-League qualifier and Perth Glory player Boom FC.

It’s all about the battle for Victorian bragging rights in Group B, as Melbourne City’s Naylor, Western United’s Negedetron and Melbourne Victory’s Saad look to make it out of a very tough group.

Group C has brought together three much-loved players who have been in the E-League since day one in 2018. Expect sparks to fly when Melbourne City’s Marcus Gomes, Sydney FC’s Jamie O’Doherty and Melbourne Victory’s Mo Zwed go toe-to-toe. You can also expect no quarter to be given in the battle for sibling rivalry in this group, when Marcus takes on his younger brother Dillon, representing Perth Glory.

And last but not least, Group D also has the potential for a giant-killing in the match-up between E-League veteran Marko (Sydney FC), playing in his fifth year, and GinjaMan (Macarthur), another Path-to-E-League qualifier, making his E-League debut.

Only the top two players in each group qualify for Finals, which begin on May 25, with the best two players making it all the way to the live Grand Final on May 28.

So every match counts. Expect fireworks.

All the information you need to know:

The Group Draw:

The Match Schedule:

The Group Stage matches take place on May 7th and May 14th, and the Finals played on May 25th and May 28th, with all games broadcasted on the E-League Australia channel on Twitch ( Viewers are encouraged to create a Twitch account, to participate live in the discussion on matchdays.

How the draw was conducted:

List of competitors and their social handles:

Player NameClubTwitter ProfileTwitch Profile
JAzAdelaide United@JAz_FIFAJAz_FIFA
vNuggzyAdelaide UnitedvNuggzyvNuggzy
AussiefifaBrisbane RoaraussiefifahdYTAussieFifaHDYT
EnvyBrisbane RoarEnvyAU_DW_Envy
BradyCentral Coast Mariners@Imafifatryhard1n/a
JordyBreoCentral Coast MarinersJordyBreoJordyBreo
Justmanutd12Macarthur FC@Justmanutd12Justmanutd12_
GinjaManMacarthur FCGinjaManTVGinjaMan
NaylorMelbourne City FCRyanNaylor_RyanNaylor_
marcus gomesMelbourne City FC@MarcusGomesFIFAmarcus_gomes
MoMelbourne VictoryMouadZwedMouadZwed
saadMelbourne Victorysaados__saados_
Mark11Newcastle JetsMarrkk11_marrkk11
MikeJNewcastle JetsMikeJFIFAMikeJFIFA
DillonPerth Glory@DillonGomesDillonGomes
BoomPerth GloryJesse_RaceyBoom_FC
FUTWIZ JamodoSydney FCJamieodohertyFUTWIZ_Jamodo
AirbrnWellington Phoenix@airbrn__@airbrn_
NoahjaWellington Phoenix@JFT_Noahjanoahja__
GoatWestern Sydney WanderersOhNoAGoatOhNoAGoat
SestoWestern Sydney Wandererssesto600sesto600
NegedetronWestern United FCANezer_Negedetron
DylanCampbellWestern United FC@Dcampbell20_DylanCampbell_

Presenter line-up:

Nate “NatePTK” Patrick –

Joshua “JTreaders” Treaders –

Andy “Andros” Phanouvong –

Charbel “Kadamani” Elkadamani –

Natalie “Nattea” Mahoney –

Prize Pool details:

  • The winner of the E-League 2022 competition will take home a $4,000 top prize and a place in the EA SportsTM FIFA 22 Global Series Playoffs;
  • The second placed player will earn $2,000 prize money and also qualify for the EA Sports FIFA 22 Global Series Playoffs;
  • $1,400 and $1,000 will go to third and fourth-placed competitors;
  • A further $1,600 will be shared by players finishing between 5th and 8th in the final placings