Martínez third in Johnny Warren Medal race


Marquee man Nicolás Martínez has capped off his debut Hyundai A-League season by polling third in the voting for the 2017 Johnny Warren Medal at last night’s Dolan Warren Awards.

The Argentine received 29 points in the voting behind Perth Glory’s Diego Castro (37) and eventual winner Milos Ninkovic (44).

Votes were submitted from a panel that included former professional players, coaching experts, match officials and media representatives.

A full list of award winners from the night is available here.

Martínez enjoyed a stellar Hyundai A-League season, netting four goals and providing eight assists in his 27 appearances.

The number 10 also took home two gongs at the Wanderers Medal 2017: the Members’ Player of the Year presented by Coffee Emporium and the Rod Allen Award: Media Player of the Year.