NYL | Wanderers and Victory share spoils


Western Sydney Wanderers and Melbourne Victory played out a 1-1 draw in the final round of the Foxtel National Youth League season at Cook Park on Saturday.

A wet and wild Cook Park welcomed the Western Sydney Wanderers and Melbourne Victory for the final round of the Foxtel National Youth League.

The Red and Black held most of the possession and looked more threatening in the opening quarter hour and soon had the lead as Nicholas Olsen beat keeper Keegan Coulter to the ball, rounded him and placed the ball into an empty net.

Just past the half hour mark the Wanderers were reduced to ten men. Daniel Alessi slid in for a tackle but the wet pitch seemed to take him on as he clattered into the Victory attacker. Having earlier received a yellow the referee had no choice but to send him off.

Minutes before half-time, Alusine Fofanah clumsily brought down Christopher Cristaldo in the box. Cristaldo brushed himself off to take the penalty but couldn-t beat Manos who saved the poor attempt.

In the 71st minute, Anthony Proia punished a tiring Wanderers outfit as he ran in one-on-one with substitute keeper Blake Tuxford and tucked the ball beside him for the equaliser.

Anthony Proia then had an opportunity to completely win the match as Tuxford bought down the Melbourne attacker in the box.

Proia scored the first attempt but had to re-take his spot-kick because of an encroachment into the box.

For the second time in this match, a Wanderers keeper came out on top, saving well to his right to keep the scores locked at 1-1 with only minutes remaining.

Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (Olsen 23m)
Melbourne Victory 1 (Proia 71m)
Cook Park, St Mary-s

Western Sydney Wanderers: 1. Thomas Manos, 2. Shane D-Cunha, 3. Daniel Alessi, 4. James Baldacchino, 5. Sean Symons, 6. Yianni Perkatis, 7. Nicholas Olsen, 8. Jake McGing, 9. Mark Cindric, 10. Alusine Fofanah.
Interchange: 12. Joshua Barresi, 13. Matthew Stewart, 17. Brendan Hooper, 20. Blake Tuxford.

Melbourne Victory: 1. Keegan Coulter (20. Gian Tapia 46m), 3. Milos Ridesic, 4. James Karvelis, 5. Dylan Murlane, 6. Jordan Brown, 7. Christopher Cristaldo, 8. Luc Jeggo, 9. Anthony Proia, 11. Kieran Dover, 12. Anthony Duzel, 13. Damien Miskulin.
Interchange: 2. Christian Cavallo, 10. John Buceto, 14. Stefan Nigro, 20. Gian Tapia.

Image Credit: Quarrie Sports Photography