Thomas named in Subway Socceroos AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023™ Squad Thomas named

Wanderer Lawrence Thomas has been named in the Subway Socceroos’ 26-man squad for the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023™ by Head Coach, Graham Arnold at a press conference in Sydney yesterday.

Australia have been drawn into Group B for the tournament and will face India, Syria and Uzbekistan in the Group Stage; with selected players to assemble in Abu Dhabi from Monday, 1 January for a tournament pre-camp.

The Subway Socceroos’ squad size was given a boost in the days leading up to its confirmation, following a decision by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) to allow participating teams the choice to increase their squad size to 26 players for the tournament, as opposed to the traditional 23.

Arnold said the opportunity to bring additional players to Doha would prove invaluable across the course of the tournament which runs January 12 �� February 10, 2024.

“The decision by the AFC was based on feedback from coaches following last year’s World Cup, and it’s a positive outcome that has given us plenty to think about in recent days,” Arnold said.

“Overall, I’m extremely happy with the squad we’ve selected for the Asian Cup, it strikes the balance that we’re looking for when considering we’ve only just commenced World Cup qualification in November.”

Arnold has placed faith in the core group of players who have been seen in the majority of FIFA Men’s International Windows throughout 2023 including Mitchell Duke (FC Machida Zelvia), Craig Goodwin (Al Wehda FC) and Jackson Irvine (FC St. Pauli).

Thomas Deng (Albirex Niigata), Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne Victory FC) and Lawrence Thomas (Western Sydney Wanderers FC) all return to the national team set up following strong performances for their respective clubs.

While injuries to Nathaniel Atkinson (ankle) and Riley McGree (foot) have limited their opportunities for both club and country in recent months, both are now fit and will make the trip to Doha for their first AFC Asian Cup.

Despite recently undergoing surgery on a fractured cheekbone, Maty Ryan (AZ Alkmaar) has been selected and will be given every opportunity to prove his fitness in the coming weeks as he works closely with the Subway Socceroos’ medical team.

Following his debut against Bangladesh in the Subway Socceroos’ recent FIFA World Cup 2026TM Second Round Asian Qualifiers, Kusini Yengi (Portsmouth FC) has been named in the squad. He’ll be joined by John Iredale (SV Wehen Wiesbaden), with the forward earning his first senior call up following time within Football Australia’s youth development pathway.


Gethin Jones from Bolton Wanderers FC is another new face to the squad, with the defender pledging allegiance to his country of birth, with the Everton FC Academy product having previously played youth international football for Wales.

Arnold said he was looking forward to assembling his squad in camp and getting preparations underway.

“At our core we have an extremely connected group, who have built a strong culture over many years. We’re welcoming in some new players who I think will prove fantastic additions to that,” Arnold added.

“It’s important that we bring energy and intensity to both our preparation and play, it’s something we’ve become renowned for and will be a big part of the group’s success moving forward.

“We’ve had to be strategic with some of our selections, considering our Olympic qualification commences in April and have looked to balance the age profile and experience of players across various positions in the squad.

“I’m excited about the potential within this group and am looking forward to getting into camp in the New Year,” Arnold concluded.

For more information on the match schedule for the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023™ please click here.

Catch the Subway Socceroos’ AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023™ campaign on Network 10 and Paramount+.


Australia v India
Saturday, 13 January 2024
Ahmad bin Ali Stadium, Al Rayyan
Kick-off: 2:30pm local (10:30pm AEDT)
Broadcast: Network 10 and Paramount+

Syria v Australia
Thursday, 18 January 2024
Jassim bin Hamad Stadium, Doha
Kick-off: 2:30pm local (10:30pm AEDT)
Broadcast: Network 10 and Paramount+

Australia v Uzbekistan
Tuesday, 23 January 2024
Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah
Kick-off: 2:30pm local (10:30pm AEDT)
Broadcast: Network 10 and Paramount+


NameCurrent Club, Country‘A’ Caps (Goals)Junior Club (Member Federation/Country)
Nathaniel ATKINSONHeart of Midlothian FC, Scotland8 (0)Riverside Olympic FC / Football Tasmania
Keanu BACCUSSt Mirren FC, Scotland12 (0)Parklea FC / Football New South Wales
Aziz BEHICHMelbourne City FC, Australia63 (2)Meadow Park SC / Football Victoria
Jordy BOSK.V.C Westerlo, Belgium6 (0)Hoppers Crossing SC / Football Victoria
Martin BOYLEHibernian FC, Scotland23 (6)Lewis United FC / Montrose FC (Scotland)
Cameron BURGESSIpswich Town FC, England3 (0)ECU Joondalup / Football West
Thomas DENGAlbirex Niigata, Japan3 (0)Adelaide Blue Eagles / Football South Australia
Mitchell DUKEFC Machida Zelvia, Japan32 (11)Liverpool Rangers SC / Football New South Wales
Bruno FORNAROLIMelbourne Victory FC, Australia2 (0)Club Nacional de Football (Uruguay)
Joe GAUCI (Gk)Adelaide United FC, Australia1 (0)Cumberland United FC / Football South Australia
Craig GOODWINAl Wehda FC, Saudi Arabia20 (2)Munno Para City FC / Football South Australia
John IREDALESV Wehen Wiesbaden, Germany0West Pennant Hills Cherrybrook / Football New South Wales
Jackson IRVINEFC St Pauli, Germany60 (9)Ringwood City SC / Football Victoria
Gethin JONESBolton Wanderers FC, England0Wrexham FC (Youth), Wales
Riley MCGREEMiddlesbrough FC, England18 (1)Gawler Eagles FC / Football South Australia
Connor METCALFEFC St. Pauli, Germany13 (0)South Cardiff FC / Northern NSW Football
Lewis MILLERHibernian FC, Scotland4 (0)Pittwater RSL FC / Football New South Wales
Aiden O’NEILLStandard de Liège, Belgium7 (0)University of Queensland Football Club (Formerly Kenmore FC) / Football Queensland
Kye ROWLESHeart of Midlothian FC, Scotland13 (0)Palm Beach SC / Football Queensland
Mathew RYAN (Gk) (Cpt)AZ Alkmaar, Netherland86 (0)Blacktown City FC / Football New South Wales
Sam SILVERAMiddlesbrough FC, England2 (0)Blacktown City FC / Football New South Wales
Harry SOUTTARLeicester City FC, England21 (10)Brechin City Boys Club (Scotland)
Lawrence THOMAS (Gk)Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia1 (0)Winston Hills Bears FC / Football New South Wales
Marco TILIOCeltic FC, Scotland7 (0)APIA Leichhardt FC & Sydney Olympic FC / Football New South Wales
Patrick YAZBEKViking FK, Norway0Austral Soccer Club / Football New South Wales
Kusini YENGIPortsmouth FC, England1 (0)Fulham United FC / Football South Australia